The Club

About the Club

Merton Football Club was founded in 1910 and is the oldest amateur football club in the borough.

Currently we have seven adult men’s teams which play on Saturday afternoons in the Southern Amateur League which is London’s top amateur league. There is a veteran’s team that plays some games in a season. We also have a thriving and expanding youth section with teams from U9s to U15s and our aim is to expand this section so that we have youth sides for all ages U9 to u16 or U17. The youth section plays its games on Sunday morning.

All our home matches are played at our home ground, Joseph Hood Recreation Ground, Martin Way, Raynes Park, SW20 9BU. Here we have Changing rooms and a small bar which is open after Saturday football and some Sunday mornings for refreshments.

The club has high standards of governance and both the adult and youth section have achieved the prestigious Football Association Charter Standard. Each youth team has an F. A.  qualified coach as manager and all our voluntary staff have to be trained in Child protection and emergency aid and CRB checked.

We have organised training sessions for all our teams. We have social functions in our clubhouse throughout the year, quizzes, barbecues and music evenings.

It is our ambition to provide well administered competitive football for all ages and abilities in a caring socially supportive environment. We welcome families at the club and we are always keen to recruit new players of all ages.

COMMITTEE MEETINGS

The next committee meeting is:
Date: 10th April 2017
Venue: The Clubhouse
Start: 19.00
Finish: Approx 21.00

Please could all Committee members attend.
If you cannot make it please email Michael Todt.
Email: michaeltodt61@gmail.com 

 

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

ROLE NAME CONTACT
President Roger Asling
Honorary Life Vice Presidents Mark Dix
Terry Baker
Pat Murphy
Jim Murphy
Fergus Murph
Martin Quinlain
John Gridley
Steve Philpott
Graeme Coombes
Chairman Max Herbert max.herbert@btinternet.com
Deputy Chairman Simon Clapperton simon.clapperton@sky.com
Secretary Michael Todt michaeltodt61@gmail.com
Treasurer Len Freeman lenjfreeman@gmail.com
Fixtures Secretary Mark Chappell mark.chappell5@btinternet.com
Youth Secretary Steve Dewsbury mertonfcyouthsecretary@gmail.com
Bar Manager Peter Kemp pkemp@wandsworth.gov.uk
Entertainments Organiser Alex Herbert alex.herbert@velocityww.com
Webmaster Matt Haswell mertonwebsite@virginmedia.com
Discipline Officer Dave Laughton mertonfcdiscipline@gmail.com
Registration Officer Darren Avey mertonfcregisteredplayers@gmail.com
General Duties Ivan Gladkow
Will Low
Adam Cairn
Clive Corrigan
ivan.gladkow@swisspost.com
w.e.low@Hotmail.co.uk

MANAGERS
2016 – 2017 Season

Team Manager Telephone Email
1st XI Simon Clapperton
James Tilley
07951 158536
07816 893110
mertonfc1s@gmail.com
2nd XI Simon White 07970 137982 mertonfc2s@gmail.com
3rd XI
4th XI Ed Plaistow 07595 373694 mertonfc4s@gmail.com
5th XI Clive Corrigan 07834 992270 mertonfc5s@gmail.com
6th XI Kevin Locke 07739 826870 kcalocke@aol.com
7th XI Dan Ally 07921 678532