The Club

About the Club

Merton Football Club was founded in 1910 and is the oldest amateur football club in the borough.

Currently we have seven adult men’s teams which play on Saturday afternoons in the Southern Amateur League which is London’s top amateur league. There is a veteran’s team that plays some games in a season. We also have a thriving and expanding youth section with teams from U9s to U15s and our aim is to expand this section so that we have youth sides for all ages U9 to u16 or U17. The youth section plays its games on Sunday morning.

All our home matches are played at our home ground, Joseph Hood Recreation Ground, Martin Way, Raynes Park, SW20 9BU. Here we have Changing rooms and a small bar which is open after Saturday football and some Sunday mornings for refreshments.

The club has high standards of governance and both the adult and youth section have achieved the prestigious Football Association Charter Standard. Each youth team has an F. A.  qualified coach as manager and all our voluntary staff have to be trained in Child protection and emergency aid and CRB checked.

We have organised training sessions for all our teams. We have social functions in our clubhouse throughout the year, quizzes, barbecues and music evenings.

It is our ambition to provide well administered competitive football for all ages and abilities in a caring socially supportive environment. We welcome families at the club and we are always keen to recruit new players of all ages.


The next committee meeting is:
Date: 10th April 2017
Venue: The Clubhouse
Start: 19.00
Finish: Approx 21.00

Please could all Committee members attend.
If you cannot make it please email Michael Todt.
Email: [email protected] 



President Roger Asling
Honorary Life Vice Presidents Mark Dix
Terry Baker
Pat Murphy
Jim Murphy
Fergus Murph
Martin Quinlain
John Gridley
Steve Philpott
Graeme Coombes
Chairman Max Herbert [email protected]
Deputy Chairman Simon Clapperton [email protected]
Secretary Michael Todt [email protected]
Treasurer Len Freeman [email protected]
Fixtures Secretary Mark Chappell [email protected]
Youth Secretary Steve Dewsbury [email protected]
Bar Manager Peter Kemp [email protected]
Entertainments Organiser Alex Herbert [email protected]
Webmaster Matt Haswell [email protected]
Discipline Officer Dave Laughton [email protected]
Registration Officer Darren Avey [email protected]
General Duties Ivan Gladkow
Will Low
Adam Cairn
Clive Corrigan
[email protected]
[email protected]

2016 – 2017 Season

Team Manager Telephone Email
1st XI Simon Clapperton
James Tilley
07951 158536
07816 893110
[email protected]
2nd XI Simon White 07970 137982 [email protected]
3rd XI
4th XI Ed Plaistow 07595 373694 [email protected]
5th XI Clive Corrigan 07834 992270 [email protected]
6th XI Kevin Locke 07739 826870 [email protected]
7th XI Dan Ally 07921 678532