Awards Day

It was a cracking day down at the Hood.

The day started with some inter club footy with 4 teams playing a mini tournament. 4 teams of 11 playing a knock out competition. Thanks to Dave Laughton for reffing this and Kieran and Sherbs for keeping goal for the duration.

That was followed by the first ever club penalty shoot out to determine the best penalty taker in the club. After surprisingly long elimination rounds it was Darren Avey who survived beating all rivals. Ricardo and Dom Plumbridge were there till the final bout. We employed a whole barrage of keepers for this who seemed to dive out of the way for Darren. No he did it them with the eyes.

Then it was showers and into the bar for a good drink and the Cup Final. Sherbs had arranged some excellent Fish and chips, alternative Sausage and chips and one sausage in batter and chips for the  discerning diner. All from Whistlestop (Raynes Park) to be delivered at Half Time. £5 a time and terrific value. Should that be one of the highlights of the season???

After the Cup Final we doled out the money to the winners of First Goalscorer and Time of first goal.

Kenzo and Matt Haswell

Then on to Awards – And here is the List of this seasons honours

Club Person of The Year – Clive Corrigan. Terrific work running the 5s in what could have been a difficult season but not for him and got his team supporting the bar and the club.

Club Player of the year – Neal Davison who played his part for not only the 3s but every other team too as another real club man.

Clubs leading goalscorerDenys  Zhurbiy  (On a countback with Tom Benham) showing how successful the season was for the 3s.

Golden Gloves (GK) – Sherbs won the low scoring competition for the third time in four years. All teams conceded far too many goals.

First Team

Player of the year – Alex Gladkow His final season with the club before he is off to the US was a cracker.

Top Goalscorer – Shared Tom Rowe and Tills.

Reserves (2s)

Player of the year – Connor Murphy a cracking season and a strong performance every game.

Top Goalscorer – Dave Quainton despite missing half the season


Player of the year – Tom Benham

Top Goalscorer – Tom and Denys Shared


Player of the year – Dom Plummridge.

Top Goalscorer –  Dulanie Richards Mark Gibbs


Player Of the Year – Clive Corrigan the man himself

Top Goalscorer – Mark Gibbs


Player of the Year – Swanny the indomitable Keeper

Top Goalscorer – Peter Obeng- Adu  recovered from being hospitalised for and out of the game but so nearly won the clubs TGS.

There were several other important thank yous

All the Captains – Clapps/Wilgo/Lofty/Ed/Clive/Kevin and all their helpers

All the Committee but especially Len (Accounts) Peter and Jasper Kemp for their sterling work behind the bar and in the kitchen and of course Steve and Kenzo for their drive in the Youth section on Sundays but helping us all along on Saturday

Dave Laughton for reffing, discipline and part time bar man.

Also the Vice Presidents and in particular the Dodge (Roger Asling) who helps organise them and the certificates with which they were all presented. Thanks for their sponsorship of the awards for players to Keep. (Vice Presidents- Dodge/Dixie/Pat Jim and Fergus Murphy/  Coombes/ Steve Philpot/Martin Quinlan.)

It was also announced that after 40+ years Terry Baker was standing down as our president. He was thanked for all his work particularly recently on the Morden Park Community Trust which holds the prospect of a new ground and state of the art facilities. We will mark this service at our AGM. It was timely to note that we need more helpers in the club and we need to pursue our most important objectives Recruitment of players and helpers and improvement of our facilities,

Finally Thanks were due to Clappers/Sherbs/Mark for organising this most successful event.

That is the Merton Way (and Incidentally we need someone to step forward and edit that – A Volunteer please)

Posted in Uncategorized